Wrigley writes name into Thunder history

Monday, October 5, 2020 - 9:52 AM by Owen Davies

Chloe Wrigley was awarded the 2020 Fenton Medal as the Best and Fairest Player as judged by the Peel Thunder coaches on Friday night.

Becoming just the second player to win the presitgious award following Courtney Rowley's inaugural win in 2019, Wrigley’s remarkable rise this season has coincided with that of the team’s similar ascent from a 2019 wooden spoon to the 2020 Premiership.

Splitting her time between both the League and Reserves side in 2019, she couldn’t quite nail down a spot in the midfield and ended up finishing her season in the Reserves Elimination Final against East Fremantle. At the start of 2020 and with new League coach Steve Markham at the helm, Wrigley trained the house down in Pre-Season and when the shortened season finally resumed in mid-July became a key component of a new look Thunder midfield.

The now WAFLW Coach of the Year said the award was a reflection of her hard work and willingness to continue to improve her game.

“Chloe has had an amazing season and the award is well deserved. Chloe is always working on self-improvement and works tirelessly at training and in her personal time. 

Her dedication and work ethic have seen her take her football to a new level this year and has resulted in her finishing equal third in the Dhara Kerr medal, an invite to the AFLW Draft Combine and now the Fenton medal.

She has been a pleasure to coach and look forward to see her to continue to grow.” Markham said.

Wrigley polled in 6 of a possible 10 games, to finish with 59 votes winning by 17 votes from fellow midfield hard nut Ebony Bilcich who finished as the Runner-Up.

Rookie sensation 15-year old Ella Roberts finished with 41 votes and was crowned as the club’s rising star, while key defender Tanisha Anderson finished 4th with 40 votes and was named as the most consistent player.

The Paula Barnden Medal Awarded to the best and fairest of the Youth girls Rogers Cup went to Nel Baxter who coming back from injury in 2020 polled a massive 87 votes winning from Jade Calley with 57 and Bella Mann with 46.

It was also a successful night for the club at the Sandover Medal on Tuesday night, with gun forward Kira Phillips being awarded the Joanne Huggins Medal as the WAFLW leading goalkicker. Ebony Bilcich was presented with the Cath Boyce Rising Star Award as the best first year player, while coach Steve Markham was bestowed the honour of the Coach of the Year. 

Chloe Wrigley came within a best on ground performance of winning the Dhara Kerr Medal to give her 3 medals in 3 weeks finishing with 6 votes, 3 behind eventual back to back winner Danika Pisconeri.