In 1996 the Peel Thunder Football Club and the WAFC negotiated the issue of the ninth licence in the WAFL competition to the Mandurah (Peel) region. The licence was issued on the proviso that the Club be ready to compete in the 1997 WAFL competition which left only eight months to establish the Club's administration and recruit coaches and players in order to field teams in time for the 1997 WAFL competition.

Despite its difficult and relatively short history Peel Thunder has achieved much with its Colts team becoming WAFL Colts Premiers in 2004 and 2005 and runners-up in 2006. The Reserves team also competed in the Grand Final in 2005.

In 2002 Alistair Pickett became the Club's inaugural Sandover Medallist with teammates Daniel Wells placed equal second and Darren Bolton in fourth place.

In recent years the Club has proved fertile ground for recruitment of young AFL players with five players drafted in 2006 and another five in 2007.

The Club is now taking the approach of concentrating on developing players from within the Peel district rather than recruit from outside its zone – an approach which appears to be paying dividends.

The 2008 season was a big one for Peel Thunder. The League side narrowly missed out on finals action while the "Pocket-Rocket" Hayden Ballantyne added a second Sandover Medal to the Club's name in a phenominal season-long performance. Coach Chris Waterman re-signed as Senior Coach of the club making him the longest serving coach the Thunder have had.

League Best & Fairest Winners

YearBest & FairestRunner UpThird
1997 Scott Simister Shane Green Alex Boyle
1998 Darren Bolton Michael Davey Ilija Grgic
1999 Scott Simister Andrew McGovern Daniel Dodd
2000 Vance Davison Russell Thompson Chad Stronach
2001 Derek Hall Daniel Haines Nathan Mourish
2002 Darren Bolton Allistair Pickett Jarod Shawcross
2003 Derek Hall Grant Welsh Bryan Hardie
2004 Daniel Haines Dylan Smith Quinton Bolton
2005 Pat Travers Dylan Smith Matt Rosa
2006 Rory O'Brien Danny Chartres
Shannon Hurn
Ashley Thornton
2007 Daniel Haines Rory O'Brien Quinton Bolton
2008 Hayden Ballantyne Kane Bloxsidge Daniel Haines
2009 Ben Howlett Simon Rosa Rory O'Brien
2010 Rory O'Brien Brendon Jones Jesse Crichton
2011 Kristin Thornton Brendon Jones James Flaherty and Jordan Jones 
2012 Brendon Jones Matt Orzel Toby Gianatti

Reserves Best & Fairest Winners

YearBest & FairestRunner UpThird
1997 Brad Wardope Dale Warren Michael Martin
1998 Kent Douglas Michael Davey Jarrod Chipperfield
1999 Chris Jas Broc Agnew Daniel Baker
2000 Broc Agnew Ryan Ballard Josh Parsons
2001 Leigh Hughes Daniel Baker Bryan Hardie
Danny Shepherd
2002 Leigh Hughes Daniel Farmer Daniel Wilson
2003 Quinton Bolton Leonard Wells Stephen Pears
2004 Shane Creevy David Holland Josh Olden
2005 Daniel Hoghton Dustin Roberts Rohan Lilly
2006 Leigh Hughes Damian Rolfe Luke Stratford
2007 Leigh Hughes Steven Chapelhow Chris Atthowe
2008 Justin Giumelli Rhys Senior Bradley Green
2009 Caillan Timbrell Bradley Green John New
2010 Cheyne George  Brody Culpitt Michael Holmes 
2011 Liam McKenna Aaron Payritts  Dean Beswick 
2012 Ryan Herring Brayden Sutton Liam McKenna

Colts Best & Fairest Winners

YearBest & FairestRunner UpThird
1997 Chad Stronach Wade Stronach Brandon Hill
1998 Chad Stronach Grant Welsh Nic Astle
1999 Daniel Davis Shane Creevy Joshua Parsons
2000 Matt Liddell Mitch Russell Dean Williams
2001 Daniel Wilson Marc Donaldson Owen McLarty
2002 Peter McGennisken Quinton Bolton Brent Atwell
2003 David Butler
Kane Bloxsidge
Matthew Battye Danny Chartres
2004 Rory O'Brien Justin Baker David Butler
2005 Kristen Thornton Ben Howlett Scott Gumbleton
2006 Ben Howlett Robert Beswick Bradley Holmes
2007 Rhys Senior Tych McSwain Callum Anderson
2008 Dean Beswick Mitch Brown Chris Luff
2009 Kieran Butcher Harley Bennell Phillip Pohlenz-saw
2010 Aaron Bombardieri Joel Beasley Nathan Wilson
2011 Corey Morris Andrew Haydon Chase Strange
2012 Corey Morris Chase Strange Jay Collard

AFL Honor Board

Below is a list of Peel Thunder players who have made it on to an AFL list.

YearNameCommunity ClubAFL Club
1998 Drafted B. Hill North Mandurah West Coast
1999 Rookie D. Bolton Narrogin Fremantle
1999 Rookie D. Walkingshaw Rockingham Fremantle
1999 Elevated D. Bolton Narrogin Fremantle
2000 Rookie D. Buszan Pinjarra West Coast
2001 Rookie D. Haines South Mandurah Fremantle
2002 Elevated D. Haines South Mandurah Fremantle
2002 Drafted D. Wells Kwinana North Melbourne
2003 Drafted F. Ray Mandurah Centrals Western Bulldogs
2004 Rookie A. Thornton Harvey-Brunswick-Leschenault West Coast
2004 Rookie R. Nye Halls Head Adelaide
2005 Drafted P. Bower North Mandurah Carlton
2005 Drafted M. Riggio Waroona North Melbourne
2005 Drafted K. Thornton Harvey-Brunswick-Leschenault Sydney
2006 Drafted J. Hawksley Halls Head Brisbane
2006 Drafted S. Gumbleton Halls Head Essendon
2006 Drafted K. Reimers Eaton Essendon
2006 Drafted B. O’Brien Pinjarra Fremantle
2006 Rookie D. Chartres Pinjarra Essendon
2008 Drafted H. Ballantyne Baldivis Fremantle
2008 Rookie J. Bennell Pinjarra Collingwood
2008 Rookie K. Thornton Harvey-Brunswick-Leschenault Sydney
2009 Elevated K. Thornton Harvey-Brunswick-Leschenault Sydney
2009 Drafted A. Morabito Harvey-Brunswick-Leschenault Fremantle
2009 Drafted A. Black Eaton North Melbourne
2009 Rookie B. Howlett Donnybrook Essendon
2010 Elevated B. Howlett Donnybrook Essendon
2010 Drafted N Wilson Centrals Greater Western Sydney
2010 Drafted B Wilson Halls Head West Coast Eagles
2010 Drafted H Bennell Pinjarra Gold Coast Suns
2010 Rookie K Lawrence Rockingham Melbourne
2013 Membership