Kia WAFL State squad named

Saturday, April 28, 2018 - 4:36 PM

AN initial Kia WAFL State Squad of 33 players has been named for next month’s State Game against the South Australian National Football League in Adelaide.

The game will be played at Adelaide Oval at 11.40am WA time on Saturday May 12 as a curtain-raiser to the Port Adelaide v Adelaide AFL Showdown.

The game will be streamed live online through the SANFL Digital Pass and simulcast on radio in WA via Sport FM 91.3fm.

Successful 2017 WAFL State Coach Michael Broadbridge, who led WA to an historic win over the VFL in Melbourne last year, will be at the helm again joined by assistant coaches Steve Malaxos, Gary Moss, Paul Johnson and Beau Wardman.

Broadbridge said the initial squad had been selected based on the performance of players in the first four rounds of the WAFL season and selectors would be keeping a close eye on games over the next fortnight with the intention of adding to the squad.

“The players we’ve selected in the squad so far is based on who has displayed the best form so far this season, so it’s reward for performance,” he said.

“I think we’ve got a really good cross section of players who have State experience, AFL experience and others that deserve a chance based on their form.

“This initial squad will form the core of the State Team but we definitely don’t want to rule anyone out. We will be watching games over the next couple of weeks and have a few players in mind that we might include to fill a required role or from a team balance point of view.”  
Broadbridge said the game would also be a great chance for players to experience playing at Adelaide Oval and showcase their talent as WA aims to record another away win over a fierce interstate rival.

“Playing the game as an AFL curtain raiser is a great opportunity and I’m sure there will be a big hometown crowd supporting the local team, so it’s definitely going to be a challenge.

“I have no doubt we will see two very competitive teams that will have a similar make-up in terms of talent and experience. It’s a big opportunity for the WAFL to firm up our position as what we believe is the best State League competition in Australia.  

“It will also be a great opportunity for players, like Tim Kelly did last year, to show how they can perform and potentially open doors to the AFL.”
WAFC Executive Manager Talent & Football Operations Scott Baker congratulated all of the players selected in the State Squad and thanked Michael Broadbridge and his assistant coaches for their commitment to the program.

“State footy is built on pride and passion so its great to see such high-quality coaches invested in the program and a really talented group of players selected in the initial squad,” he said.

“WA hasn’t won a State Game in South Australia since a 14-point victory at Football Park in 1994 so it’s a great incentive for this group to create their own piece of history. I’m really looking forward to the game.”

KIA WAFL State Squad
Claremont – Jye Bolton, Kane Mitchell.
East Fremantle – Jonathon Marsh, Jayden Schofield.
East Perth – Sharrod Wellingham.
Perth – Cody Leggett.
Peel Thunder – Blair Bell, Gerald Ugle.
South Fremantle – Ryan Cook, Ashton Hams, Brock Higgins, Blaine Johnson, Ben Saunders, Haiden Schloithe, Nick Suban.
Subiaco – Lachlan Delahunty, Aaron Heal, Kyal Horsley, Leigh Kitchin, Angus Litherland, Jordan Lockyer, Chris Phelan, Ben Sokol, Brad Stevenson, Rhys Waters.
Swan Districts – Cory Gault, Tony Notte, Rhys Palmer, Kirk Ugle.
West Perth – Aaron Black, Luke Meadows, Shane Nelson, Andrew Strijk.