Monday, October 9, 2017 - 4:35 PM

Congratulations to Sam Collins who was presented with the 2017 Peel Thunder Dudley Tuckey Medal, winning on 115 votes.   Runners up to Sam were Matt Taberner on 81 votes and 3rd place Cam Sutcliffe on 67 votes.

More than 250 people attended the awards evening at Bendigo Bank Stadium which was conducted by MC Jack Crawshaw.

The evening also included a special presentation to back-to-back Premiership Coach Cam Shepherd, U’18 All Australian Aaron Naughton and league player Rory O’Brien who announced his retirement.

Here is a snap shot from League Coach Cam Shepherd on Sam, Rory and Leroy.


2017 Dudley Tuckey Medallist – Sam Collins

Rarely does a Full Back win a fairest and best Award.   Such was Sam’s domination of all WAFL forwards that he was recognised as the premier defender in the competition.

His ability to mark nearly everything that came his way was inspiring. If he couldn't mark, he spoilt. Golden Fist.

He led the best defence in the competition and was outstanding in the finals for Peel Thunder.  His attitude is exemplary, he leads by example and is a complete footballer.

A very deserving winner, and a Fairest and Best winner in a premiership team.  A high honour. 

Well done Sam.

Rory O’Brien retirement

Rory’s been a great player over many years at both Peel Thunder and East Fremantle. Whilst he has won accolades as a 5 times Fairest and Best winner and a Sandover Medallist, it is as a dual premiership player that I will fondly remember him.

His character and professionalism epitomised him as a player.  He has been so important in driving the standards of our group whilst building the bonds that have made our team great.

Well done Rory.
Rory O'Brien’s Career
244 WAFL League games (139 PTFC, 105 East Fremantle)
2016 & 2017 WAFL Premiership Player
2013 Sandover Medallist
2011 & 2013 WAFL State Player
2006 & 2010 PTFC Tuckey Medallist
2011, 2013 & 2015 EFFC Lynn Medallist
2014-2015 EFFC Captain
2004 WAFL Colts Premiership Player
2004 WAFL Colts Premiership joint Captain


Tom Stone award – Leroy Jetta

This award recognizes a player whom has endured hardship and shown resilience to achieve.

This years the award was presented to Leroy Jetta.

Leroy missed 2016 through the Essendon saga and watched whilst his team mates won the first ever premiership for Peel Thunder.  Whilst obviously hurting inside he showed his support whenever he could.

He was enormously focused on having a big year and achieving in 2017.

And so he did in the first ten games Leroy played extremely well, kicked 26 goals and played for WA in the historic victory against the Vic’s in June.

Disaster struck for Leroy late in a mid-season game against Subiaco when he fully ruptured his MCL. It was unlikely he would return, let alone get back for finals at Peel.

But coach Cam Shepherd and Leroy designed a plan to give him a chance. Leroy stuck religiously to a plan working himself tirelessly, losing some weight to take the load off his legs.  During this period there were times when he didn't think it would come good.

But as he grew strength, he grew in confidence.  An inspiring game in the reserves 3 games prior to finals was enough to convince the selectors to give him a go.

The rest is history. Two goals in the Grand Final including one in the last quarter putting Peel in front from the boundary line and he was part of the 2017 premiership team.

Well done Leroy.


League awards

Dudley Tuckey Medallist – Sam Collins

Runner up fairest and best – Matt Taberner

3rd place fairest and best – Cam Sutcliffe

Most consistent – Traye Bennell

Leading goal kicker – Matt Taberner

Arthur Marshall young player of the year – Haydn Matthews

Tom Stone award – Leroy Jetta

Coaches award – Ben Hancock

Player’s player – Corey Morris

Best player of the finals series – Luke Ryan


Senior Development awards

Ball Family Medal – Brad Walsh

Runner up fairest and best – Brett Milward

Coaches award – Chris Wrigley


Colts winners

David Cameron Memorial Medal winner – Lachlan Mitchell

2nd place fairest and best – Jordan Boullineau

3rd place fairest and best – Jakeb Shine

Players Player – Kyle Havelburg

Encouragement Award – James Sturrock

Leadership Award – Tyson Powell


Other award winners

Life Membership – Terry McCarthy

Life Membership – John Ditchburn

Best Club person – Geoff Campbell


Congratulations to all winners and thank you Sponsors of the awards.   The Club wishes to extend an invitation to supports, volunteers, sponsors, families and players to help celebrate what was Season 2017 and take advantage to wish Sam Collins all the best - @ The Bear Trap this Wednesday 4pm.  Bar open and sausage sizzle available.

Bring on Season 2018 and LETS GO THUNDER, LETS GO!

Image: Mandurah Coastal Times